homehome.htmlshapeimage_2_link_0
facilitiesfacilities.htmlshapeimage_3_link_0
seminarsseminars.htmlshapeimage_4_link_0
linkslinks.htmlshapeimage_5_link_0
cagancagan.htmlshapeimage_6_link_0
people
publicationscaganpub.htmlshapeimage_8_link_0
linkscaganlink.htmlshapeimage_9_link_0
http://icahn.mssm.edu/departments-and-institutes/developmental-and-regenerative-biology
labslabs.htmlshapeimage_13_link_0
protocolscaganpro.htmlshapeimage_14_link_0
 

Cagan Lab - People

lab head

Ross Cagan

PROFESSOR & ASSOCIATE DEAN

Cell, Developmental & Regenerative Biology

Ophthalmology

Oncological Sciences

lab info
lab members

Bahamon, Christian

ASSOCIATE RESEARCHER

christian.bahaman@mssm.edu


212-241-0135 (lab)

212-860-9279 (fax)


location:

1468 Madison Avenue

Annenberg Building

25th Floor, Room 25-40

New York, NY 10029


mailing address:

Mt. Sinai School of Medicine

One Gustave L. Levy Place

Box 1020

New York, NY 10029-6574

3cagan.html
I build the genetic models that are then injected into flies in order to give them the desired phenotype”

United States

Das, Tirtha

POSTDOCTORAL FELLOW

tirtha.das@mssm.edu

Multiple Endocrine Neoplasia Type II (MEN2) is a cancer syndrome that results in an aggressive form of thyroid tumor. I am using genetics to identify the mechanisms by which oncogenic Ret transforms tissue. I am also screening drug compounds to identify candidate therapeutic agents.

India

Hecht, Chana

ASSOCIATE RESEARCHER

chana.hecht@mssm.edu

United States

former lab members

Bao, Sujin

Craig, Callie

POSTDOCTORAL FELLOW


UC San Diego

9500 Gilman Dr.

La Jolla, CA 92093


http://www.ucsd.edu/portal/site/ucsd

858 534-2230

Dokcu, Mehmet

CLINICAL PSYCHIATRIST

Washington University in St. Louis

One Brookings Drive

St. Louis, MO 63130


http://www.wustl.edu/

314 935-6000 or 800 638-0700

Gorski, Sharon

P.I.

Vancouver

Lespina, Denise

ASSOCIATE RESEARCHER

denise.lespina@mssm.edu

United States

Teague, Alex

RESEARCH COORDINATOR

alex.teague@mssm.edu

I work on automated liquid handling and embryo sorting and provide technical assistance to the other researchers.

United States

Jassim, Omar

CLINICS

Washington University in St. Louis

One Brookings Drive

St. Louis, MO 63130


http://www.wustl.edu/

314 935-6000 or 800 638-0700

Hays, Rebecca

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR

Kansas University

Larson, David

POSTDOCTORAL FELLOW

Washington University in St. Louis

One Brookings Drive

St. Louis, MO 63130


http://www.wustl.edu/

314 935-6000 or 800 638-0700

Miller, David

RESIDENCY

Yale

Read, Renee

POSTDOCTORAL FELLOW

Salk Institute

Rusconi, Jamie

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR

SUNY

Albany

Seppa, Midori

Completing medical training,

Washington University in St. Louis

One Brookings Drive

St. Louis, MO 63130


http://www.wustl.edu/

314 935-6000 or 800 638-0700

Spencer, Susan

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR

St. Louis University

Tanenbam, Sara

STAFF SCIENTIST

Ingenuity Inc.

Warner, Steven

Continuing Ph.D. training.

Washington University in St. Louis

One Brookings Drive

St. Louis, MO 63130


http://www.wustl.edu/

314 935-6000 or 800 638-0700

Powell, Patricia

STAFF SCIENTIST

NSF

United States

ross.cagan@mssm.edu

212-241-1427

Our lab, located on the 25th floor of the Annenberg building, has one of the most stunning views in Manhattan. Oh, and we do great work as well, using flies to study development, cancer, and diabetes.

Brachman, Carrie

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR

UC Irvine

Irvine, CA 92697


http://www.uci.edu

949 824-5011

Cordero, Julia


Johnson, Ruth


Rim, Sarah


Vidal, Marcos


Rudrapatna, Vivek


Gatto, Jared

ASSOCIATE RESEARCHER

jared.gatto@mssm.edu

United States

Mirmira, Rupa

STUDENT

rupa.mirmira@mssm.edu

United States

Yon, Wesley

ASSOCIATE RESEARCHER

wesley.yon@mssm.edu

United States

Feliz, Juani


juani.feliz@mssm.edu

United States

Malyshev, Denis

ASSOCIATE RESEARCHER

denis.malyshev@mssm.edu

United States

Sonoshita, Masahiro

POSTDOCTORAL FELLOW

masahiro.sonoshita@mssm.edu

Toxic side effects are the serious problem during the course of chemotherapy for cancer patients. I am developing new generation anti-cancer drugs with low toxicity using fly cancer models.

Japan

Graves, Justin


Pendse, Jay


Esernio, Jessica


Hirabayashi, Susumu


Liang, Hsiao-Lan


Levine, Ben


Na, Jianbo


Smibert, Peter


Barcassat, Vanessa

ASSOCIATE RESEARCHER

vanessa.barcassat@mssm.edu

Canada

Bangi, Erdem

POSTDOCTORAL FELLOW

erdem.bangi@mssm.edu

My project involves modeling the genetic complexity and diversity of human colorectal cancer in Drosophila. I have used sophisticated genetic tools available in flies to generate complex, multigenic models of colorectal cancer using sequenced human colon tumors as reference points.

Turkey

Diaz, Jennifer

Student

jennifer.long@mssm.edu

United States